With over 65 volunteers serving on committees to guide, promote, and develop our programming. Interested in joining a committee? Please contact the committee chair to receive further information.

Leadership Council

The Leadership Council provides guidance to all other committees within the organization. Members are elected each year.

Current Members

Steve Tofel (President),  Peter Paquette (Vice-President and acting Treasurer) , Iain Sim (Secretary), Pam Ahlen, Jaci Allen, Karen Borgstrom, Gene Currotto, Terrance Darcey, Brian Edwards, Toni Egger, Roy Finney, Maynard Goldman, Mary Grizzard, Ann Hargraves, Barbara Jones, Hilary Llewellyn-Thomas, Jim Lynch, John Peterman, Jeff Roosevelt (Community Liaison), Laura Schneider, Alan Schnur, Steve Shama, Bill Sullivan, Carol Westberg, Mary-Ella Zietz (Provost Office Liaison)

Curriculum Committee

The mission of Curriculum Committee is to ensure that Osher at Dartmouth's course offerings and special lectures are extensive, diverse, appealing, and successful.

Current Members

Hilary Llewellyn-Thomas (Co-Chair), Bill Secord (Co-chair), Pam Ahlen, Ginia Allison, Anne Baird, Susan Brown, Charlie Buell, Harriet Debauge, Phyllis Deutsch, Judith Dixon, Jim Dunaway, Margaret Gadon, Lynn Garfield, Genevieve Godin, Vic Henningsen, Martin Jeffries, Susan Johnson, Barbara Jones, Beverly Marshall, Kathy Martin, Cam Moore, Richard Neugass, Mary Anne Rankin, Laney Sammons, Mary Ann Rankin, Laura Schneider, Steve Shama, Judith Strull, Steve Tofel (ex-officio), Patti Warren, Phyllis Whitney, Jed Williamson, Jim Wilson

Finance Committee

The mission of the finance committee is to enable Osher at Dartmouth to fulfill its mission by managing its financial resources.

Current Members

Gene Curotto (Chair), Peter Paquette (Treasurer), Martin Blumberg, Hank Clarke, Hilary Llewellyn-Thomas, Terry Martin, Alan Schnur, Steve Tofel (ex officio)

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is responsible for conducting elections of Osher at Dartmouth members to the Leadership Council; ensuring that Osher at Dartmouth is operating in accordance with its bylaws, recommending bylaw additions or changes when needed; and shall each year select and present to the Leadership Council recipients of the Thomas B. Campion Award.

Current Members

Iain Sim (Chair), Pam Ahlen, Toni Egger, Mary Grizzard, Barbara Jones, Hilary Llewellyn-Thomas, Peter Paquette (Ex-officio), Bill Sullivan

Marketing & Communications Committee

The mission of the M&CC is to build awareness of and promote participation and membership in Osher at Dartmouth by highlighting its broad offerings of enriching educational programs as well as the positive social aspect of being a member.

Current Members

Karen Borgstrom (Chair), Harvey Bazarian, Roger Goldman, Joan Hartwell, Hilary Llewellyn-Thomas, Richard Neugass, John Peterman, Jeff Roosevelt, Laura Schneider, Joe Tofel, Steve Tofel (ex-officio)

Staff Liaison: Sarah Chamberlin

Membership Services Committee

The mission of the Membership Services Committee is to enhance Osher at Dartmouth member benefits. We organize various social events during the year to celebrate one another, a new term, study leaders, volunteers, and staff.

Current Members

Laura Schneider (Chair), Margot de l'Etoile, Lynn Garfield, Rosemarie Scibetta, Steve Tofel (ex-officio)

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee is responsible for examining the future needs of Osher at Dartmouth, and reports its findings to the Council.

Current Members

Jaci Allen (Chair), Hank Clarke, Brian Edwards, Roy Finney, Joan Hartwell, Hilary Llewellyn-Thomas, Deborah Luquer, Jim Lynch, Terry Martin, Peter Paquette, John Sanders, Bill Secord, Iain Sim, Punch Taylor, Steve Tofel (ex-officio)

Summer Lecture Series Committee

The Summer Lecture Series is responsible for planning and bringing in speakers for the annual lecture series.

Current Members

Ann Hargraves (Chair), Ginia Allison, Pete Bleyler, Martha Clark, Ellen Frost, Sarwar Kashmeri, Peter Paquette, Steve Shama, Bill Sullivan, Steve Tofel (ex-officio)

Last Updated